ABS-CBN to cancel 'Happy Yipee Yehey'

Noontime show "Happy Yipee Yehey" will have its final episode next Saturday, February 4, nearly a year after its first episode, ABS-CBN announced.

The show, whose main hosts are John Estrada, Randy Santiago, Toni Gonzaga, Rico J. Puno and Pokwang, aired its pilot on February 12 last year. An original host, Mariel Rodriguez, had moved to TV5 and is now host of the early evening game show "Wil Time Bigtime."

Other "Happy Yipee Yehey" hosts include John Prats, Matteo Guidicelli, and Bianca Manalo.

"Happy Yipee Yehey" is the second noontime show to be cancelled after Willie Revillame's "Wowowee" had been put off the air over the network's ongoing case against the now TV5 host. The show was preceded by "Pilipinas Win na Win" that was hosted first by Kris Aquino and Robin Padilla then eventually emceed by the Hitmakers Rey Valera, Marco Sison, Nonoy Zuniga and Rico J. Puno.

ABS-CBN issued the following statement, which was sent to Yahoo! Philippines OMG! on Thursday, January 26:

"'Happy Yipee Yehey' (HYY) will have its last episode with the grand finals of its "My Girl" search at the AFP Theater on Saturday, February 4, 2012.

ABS-CBN is very grateful to the HYY hosts and production staff for their hard work and contribution in giving our noontime viewers a "happy, yipee, yehey" experience for the past year.

We also extend our deepest gratitude to our viewers, here in the Philippines and in The Filipino Channel (TFC) markets worldwide, for their support to the program.

The HYY hosts will be given new projects that kapamilyas will surely enjoy."

"HYY" was named as “Best Noontime Show” at the 2011 Ateneode Manila University Dangal ng Bayan Awards and was a 2011 Anak TV Seal awardee. With Karen Valeza


Editor’s note:Yahoo Philippines encourages responsible comments that add dimension to the discussion. No bashing or hate speech, please. You can express your opinion without slamming others or making derogatory remarks.