Bloglovin' Awards: ManRepeller scoops blogger of the year

Olivia Palermo was named newcomer of the year at the Bloglovin' Awards February 12, while the ManRepeller's Leandra Medine scooped the gong for blogger of the year.

Organized by blog update alert site Bloglovin', the annual event recognizes online fashion blogging talent from across the globe with fans able to vote for their favorite internet stars.

The victors were announced at Sunday's ceremony, which was hosted by fashion writer Derek Blasberg and live streamed from New York City.

Upon being named blogger of the year, ManRepeller's Medine took to her winning site to thank her fans.

"Tonight, in a room that included most every blogger in the history of the internets, I won the Bloglovin' award for Best Blogger of 2012," she wrote.

"I obviously couldn't have won that sh*t without your votes, so thank you, thank you, thank you, I owe you a fancy seafood dinner only less about seafood more about vegetarian Thai dishes."

Former reality star Palermo beat off competition from the likes of YouTube sensation Wendy Nguyen and Sydney-based blogger Jessica Stein's Tuula Vintage to scoop the newcomer of the year prize, while the most original blog gong went to photography blogger FromMeToYou.

Other winners included JakandJilBlog for best street style blog and Kenza for best international blog.

The ceremony came just a few days after the 3rd Annual Fashion 2.0 Awards, which were live streamed from New York February 8 and saw DKNY win the Best Twitter and Best Blog by a Fashion Brand gongs.



Editor’s note:Yahoo Philippines encourages responsible comments that add dimension to the discussion. No bashing or hate speech, please. You can express your opinion without slamming others or making derogatory remarks.