MMFF chair plans to include animation films in 2013

Metro Manila Development Authority and Metro Manila Film Festival (MMFF)  executive committee chair Francis Tolentino plans to expand next year’s annual event by introducing an animation section.

“Sana makapaglabas tayo ng mga pelikulang pwedeng ihanay sa ‘Ninja Turtles,’ ‘Kung Fu Panda’ and ‘Alvin and the Chipmunks’, he said at a press conference held at Annabel’s Restaurant on Monday, Nov. 12.

The animation segment, he adds, will make the Metro Filmfest complete, since it now includes cinephone, student film, indies and mainstream films.

“Nakausap ko na ang mga taga Technology Resource Centers at sinabi nilang marami na silang incubation centers para tulungan ang new entrepreneurs in the software industry na tutulong sa animators. Marami na silang napadala sa Pixar sa Hollywood.”

He also bared plans to include musicals as entries in 2014.

Cinephone winners

Meanwhile,  MMFF Student Section Head Paul Soriano announced the six student films, shot using  cellphones cameras, which won in the CinePhone section of the MMFF.

The winners in the nationwide contest for high school and college students are:

Luzon: “Promdi,”  from the Don Bosco Youth Center (high school category) and “Monthsary,” from the   Polytechnic University of the Philippines (college category);

Visayas:  “License to Drive” from the Christian Academy of Bacolod (high school category) and “Two Minutes” from the University of San Carlos (college category).

Mindanao: “Bulgaran sa Daan” from the Philippine Nikke Jin Kai International (high school category) and “The Boy, The Girl, The Traffic Man”  from Ateneo de Davao University (college category).

The winners will get P25,000, high-end camera phones, cellphone load, digital cameras, post-production packages and internet broadband kits.

Student Short Films

Student Short Films In competition this year are:

“Manibela” – Far Eastern University
“Last Manny” – Colegio de San Juan de Letran
“Obsesyon” – Mowelfund Film Institute
“Rolyo” – Mowelfund
“Tsansa” – Cebu Normal University
“Ritwal” – University of San Carlos
“Tagad Skateboarding sa Cebu” – University of San Carlos
“Kinse” – Mowefund
“Sonata” – University of the Philippines – Diliman
“Lugaw” – Mowelfund

The official entries in the New Wave Section – Full Length Film categories are “Ad Ignorantiam (Qyantum Films), “Gayak” (Pro Pro Artist & Advertising), “In Nomine Matris” (HUBO Productions)m “Paglaya sa Tanikala” (Kuwentista Production,Inc.) and “The Grave Bandits” (Paper Boat Pictures).

Mainstream films competing this year are “Sisterakas” (Star Cinema/Viva Films), “El Presidente” (Scenema Concepts), “Shake, Rattle and Roll 14” (Regal Entertainment), “Si Agimat, Si Enteng at Ako”  (Octoarts Films, M-Zet Productions, Imus Productions, APT Entertainment  and GMA Films), “The Strangers” (Quantum Films), “One More Try” (Star Cinema),  “Sossy Problems” (GMA Films) and “Thy Womb” (Centerstage Productions).

The Parade of Stars on Dec. 23 will start at Rizal park and end at the Cultural Center of the Philippines while the awards night is set Dec. 27 at Meralco Theater.  A tribute to Comedy King Dolphy and the Fernando Poe Jr. Awards are the new additions to this year’s ceremonies.


Editor’s note:Yahoo Philippines encourages responsible comments that add dimension to the discussion. No bashing or hate speech, please. You can express your opinion without slamming others or making derogatory remarks.

  • Beyonce's unretouched L'Oreal photos only latest in her long history of Photoshop controvers …

    Beyonce's unretouched L'Oreal photos only latest in her long history of Photoshop controvers …

    Celebrity News - Fri, Feb 20, 2015 1:47 AM PHT
    Beyonce's unretouched L'Oreal photos only latest in her long history of Photoshop controvers …

    Beyonce’s #Flawless image is embroiled in controversy once again. On Wednesday, a web site called The Beyonce World leaked 224 allegedly raw photos of the musician. The images showed Bey in full makeup for the 2013 L’Oreal ad campaign — but with the kinds of “imperfections” we all have — beauty marks, bumps, creases. In the wake of Cindy Crawford’s unretouched photos, the images have been praised by critics of a beauty industry that sets impossibly high standards, standards that Queen Bey …

  • Taylor Swift reveals ‘Style’ video

    Taylor Swift reveals ‘Style’ video

    omg - Sat, Feb 14, 2015 12:14 AM PHT
    Taylor Swift reveals ‘Style’ video

    The 25-year-old released the video for her third cut from platinum selling album 1989. …

  • My mother-in-law’s personal encounter with the pope

    My mother-in-law’s personal encounter with the pope

    Write Away - Wed, Jan 28, 2015 2:29 PM PHT
    My mother-in-law’s personal encounter with the pope

    For my mother-in-law Mrs. Elsa Yrastorza Yuzon, flying and soaring in the skies is part of her normal routine. But it reached new heights when Pope Francis boarded Shepherd One. …